The Hawaii Shortboard Revolution 1966-1972

Surfboard collector and surfing historian Greg Lui-Kwan hosts this video mapping the progression of the modern Hawaii shortboard from 1966 to 1972. Names like Dick Brewer, Reno Abellira, Gerry Lopez, Mike Hynson, and Bob McTavish surface in this video.

Surfboard length, belly design, rail design, and the beginning of three fin surfboards are mentioned in this video along with the infamous nose cavity in some of the early Rainbow Surfboards.

I have one correction that stated with enough equivocation that I don’t think an addendum is needed. I thought perhaps that Nat Young’s Magic Sam board was made by Gordon Woods. According to Matt Warshaw, Nat shaped that board himself.

This is a continuing video effort of Kyle Metcalf to capture some of the more vintage moments in surfing history.

Thanks to Ev Fox for the use of his music on this video and to Jeff Au Hoy and Calvin Nakata for their production assistance.


 Write a comment


Do you like our videos?
Do you want to see more like that?

Please click below to support us on Facebook!